Excellent Tank Top

This past spring, I was on a search for some good looking tank tops to wear during the summer or under a shirt or jacket.

I want a tank or camisole that looks a bit dressy, not like you borrowed it from your daughter’s workout wardrobe.

I found this winner a linen tank at H&M:

H&M Linen TankThe photo makes the tank look very casual, but it isn’t. The fabric is a lightweight slubby 100% linen, very cool and comfortable. It’s thin,  not sheer, but I suggest you stick with a skin color bra underneath.

The color is a very light cool beige, less yellow than this photo. The website says it also comes in dark blue and a blue stripe. I didn’t see those in the store, but I would have chosen the beige anyway..

Do try it on. The fit is loose, you may want to buy a size smaller than usual.

The best part? It only cost $12.95! This is the price most stores charge for cheap cotton tanks that stretch out after the first wash. I don’t live near an  H&M, so I never took a good look at their clothing before. I did when I bought the tank … expect more good reviews in the future. There are a surprising number of things that work on older women, the prices are very low, and the quality is better than you’d expect at the price.

I will have to shorten the straps a bit, but that’s typical for me. The joy of being short with a full bust … Shortening tank top straps is about as easy as alterations get, 2 minutes to try on and measure, 2 minutes to stitch it up. Except … how do I manage to not own any beige thread?

I also found a tank and a camisole on the clearance rack at my local Ann Taylor Loft. The tank is a nice pine green, the label says it’s 100% cotton but I think there’s a bit of acrylic in there. Rib knit, so a bit casual. The cami is an unusual olive brown color that looks awesome on me, and is a fine smooth cotton. $4.88 each. So, three sleeveless tops for less than $25 total … my kind of shopping!

Leave a Reply

